My big fat Greek diet

Greek yogurt has truly been quite a wonder in the kitchen for me, its status in the kitchen is almost elevated to the ‘cult status’ of coconut oil/apple cider vinegar, which evidently you can use EVERYWHERE for EVERYTHING (Pinch of salt please!).

I’ve used it in a variety of ways, and so far have found that it doesn’t compromise on the taste while making everything just a little bit healthier! It has come in so handy in so many ways, for instance:

  1. As a base for fruit/protein shakes
  2. Substitute for sour cream and heavy cream
  3. Base for sauces
  4. Recovering from a bout of food poisoning or stomach flu
  5. Mixing into Zeus’ morning bowl of kibble for the added boost of calcium and probiotics
  6. Base for homemade face masks. Yeah I’m weird like that, I love putting food on my face. Mix it with honey, oatmeal and/or turmeric for a relaxing and delicious skin treat.

Evidently Greek yogurt is beneficial for us and our canine buddies in many ways, and mostly I keep hearing the P word when we talk about this yogurt from the gods. To name a few of its benefits…

1. Protein

Greek yogurt can have twice as much protein as regular yogurt. The added boost of protein will help you feel full and leave you feeling satisfied. One cup of plain, low-fat  yogurt usually contains 5 to 10 grams of protein, but Greek yogurt averages about 13 to 20 grams of protein! Yay!

2. Less Sodium

Greek yogurt has less sodium by up to 50 percent compared to regular yogurt. Plus, it still has a full-bodied taste without the high sodium content.

3. Low in Carbohydrates

Regular yogurt has 15 to 17 grams of carbohydrates per cup, where Greek yogurt averages around 9 grams (Note that not all Greek yogurt is created equal, so read the labels before buying).

4. Easy to Digest

Because Greek yogurt contains less carbohydrates than regular yogurt, it has less lactose, the sugar in dairy products that can sometimes upset people’s stomachs. A godsend for people who are lactose intolerant.

5. Probiotics

Greek yogurt and other fermented foods, such as buttermilk ( I LOVE) contain probiotics.  This helps improve digestive function and the immune system.

Clearly, GREEK YOGURT IS A FRIEND. So what do you do when you have a tub of Greek yogurt and a pack of plump blueberries chilling in the fridge? Make a blueberry cheesecake, of course! I love this cheesecake because it is healthier and tastes lighter than your average cheesecake.

SO, I have this thing about admiring chunks of cheese and butter. Had to take a moment and repeat a few hallelujah’s after I squeezed out these tubes of cream cheese onto the scale. Whispers: You’re gorgeous!

IMG_0894
Hello my pretty!

Fast forwarding to the end because, well I didn’t bother taking any pictures in between. Another silent moment of reflection presents itself when I stare at (almost) identical cubes and admire the structural perfection of the shapes (Do I need help?).

IMG_0900
Slice, wipe and repeat.

I’m sorry gods of the cubic realm, I didn’t do you justice this time. Guess I have to bake a whole new batch to slice it perfectly, and I’ll keep doing it till they are perfectly identical!!

One 20x20cm cheesecake retails for $30.

To order simply Whatsapp/SMS: 91156968 or drop an email to zeusbakery@gmail.com!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

